I waited…

I waited for my heart to break.

For the earth to quake.

and the floor to rattle.

I waited for the heaviness to seep into my chest.

I waited for the emptiness and the loss of appetite,

I waited for the pain of a thousand cuts

and another thousand sleepless nights.

I waited for the world to end

For the sky to fall and a plague of locusts to descend.

I waited for the contempt to crawl into my skin.

And the most lethal of the seven deadly sins.

But the wrath never came,

And neither did the blades

Time didn’t stop.

No seas parted.

The clouds stay put.

And the locusts kept to themselves.

The stars kept on shining,

I never went cold,

I felt my heart tingle and pull,

But it never so much as shattered or made a sound

No plates shook,

The world kept on spinnin’

The light never went out.

One thought on “I waited…

Leave a comment